HowTo: Add BDA hardware support to Windows Server 2008 R2 / 2012

If you want to use software such as DVBViewer, DVBViewer Recording Service or MediaPortal on your Windows Server, you may encounter the problem that it won’t recognize any of your DVB devices.

This is because there is no BDA support (Broadcast Driver Architecture) on Windows Server 2008 / 2012. So if you want to use BDA based hardware (i.e. DVB TV cards) it is neccessary to add BDA harware support manually.

» Um die deutsche Version dieses Artikels zu lesen, bitte hier klicken.

Introduction

Some day, I installed the MediaPortal TV server on my Windows Server 2008 R2. There is a warning that this OS is not officially supported but the installation worked fine (I chose MySQL5), so I thought it should be running just fine.

But it was not. In the configuration tool, the “TV servers” list was empty. After some research I found the solution to add BDA support with a MSI setup file from here. Indeed, this one is working for DVBViewer and its Recording Service which I had installed in parallel. But the MediaPortal TV server configuration still had no TV servers available.

So I tried an other solution from the MediaPortal forum. At first I was frightened of the long and quite complex installation instructions and the fact that it is just working for English OS versions (“en-US”, mine is a “de-DE”). But having a look into the batch files I realized that the setup routine itself is quite simple. I decided to rework them.

Adding BDA support to your server

The new serverbda setup batch files add BDA support to any Windows Server 2008 R2 or Windows Server 2012 with just a few clicks.

serverbda.zip Version 1.0: Download

Have a look at the readme file which explains the installation step-by-step.

I would be happy to receive your feedback. Just leave a comment below.

A big thanks goes to limpwhizkid, the author of the original “bdaforserver”.

24 thoughts on “HowTo: Add BDA hardware support to Windows Server 2008 R2 / 2012

  1. Pingback: Tip: How to add Broadcast Driver Architecture support to Windows Server 2012 R2 « Unofficial IGEL Thin Client Blog

  2. Hello, I can make it working only partially. After your guide I am finally able to see the usb Tuner in the DVBViewer Hardware section, but still not see the tuner in Channel Scan so I cant tune any channel :/ Any idea?


    • The same thing happened to me then I realized that I was using the original BDA_R2__TV_Card_.msi file and not the serverbda batch files noted later in the post. After grabbing the files from a x64* windows 7 professional machine, it worked perfectly. I am using on server 2008 R2 enterprise with nextPVR working great Avermedia A188c tuners. * I tried a x86 version first and had path errors.

      • Hello, thanks for reply! I have tried both batch files and later also msi package. But noone work. I think problem can be in System local. I am not sure what to use. I have files from Win7 x64 Czech (Czech regional setting) but th server is English(Czech regional settings). I am not sure how to properly combine it. Or should I use just files just only from Windows x64 English (any regional setting or only english regional settings?). Problem is that I have only Czech Windows 7 on all comupters.
        Maybe someone can upload for me files from English version of Windows 7 x64?

        Thanks!

  3. worked on a fully patched up 2008 r2 std. win7 grabber said there was 8 files in total missing. so wasnt confident, but it does work. TBS6981 card. Dvbviewer 5.2.X.

  4. There are a couple of access denied and files not copied for me. After scanning the server BSOD sometimes and restarts.

  5. Hi Marphy,
    worked fine for me – it’s the solution I was looking for since I changed from Win7 Notebook to a separate Windows 2008 R2 Server (SP 1).
    I’m using a ‘Terratec Cinergy S2 USB HD’ DVB-S TV device with the new version 1.4.0 of MediaPortal. Only the MP TV-Server is runnig on Win 2008 Server – the MP Client is installed on my Win 7 notebook)

  6. Thanks.

    I was searching for this and your post and instructions at download file is the most complete I found.

    Now I trust and will install it on my 2008 R2 pt-BR.

    I need to instal a 7 x64 to copy files before.

    After install I will post again.

Leave a Reply

